This Mo(u)rning

I came across this blog as I was pulling myself through my morning routine today, and knew instantly that I needed to share it. It’s a tremendous example of beautiful writing from a young writer/scholar trying to isolate their core motives, goals, and inspirations. If you’re interested in a bit of truly fine writing to get your day started, look no further.

Haylie Swenson

Last night I held a mouse while it died. I had just shooed away a menacing cat outside our local library, and not for the first time, either. A few months ago I rescued a sparrow from this same cat, carrying it home in a box supplied by a nearby friend. I hoped an evening’s worth of quiet at my house would help him recover from his shock, and it worked, I think; the next morning he hopped away into the bushes. The mouse wasn’t so lucky. He was alive when I picked him up and wrapped him in my sweater, but dead before I got home. He died from fear, I think, and for all I know my picking him up may have been what pushed him over the edge.

To Ross’ deep confusion (perhaps to yours too, dear reader), I brought the mouse home anyway, cradling its still little body with…

View original post 726 more words

One thought on “This Mo(u)rning”

  1. Thank you for sharing that honest and thoughtful writing. My father passed from the same disease as the writer’s, and in a similar manner. I felt emotionally numb for several months after his passing. The grief did not truly arrive until the death, from old age, of a dog we had had when I was still living at home. My father asked me to keep the dog after he and my mother moved to the city and had a yard too small for a farm dog. In addition to my natural affection for the dog, he was the last living link to my life as a son living under my father’s roof, and the grief I felt at his passing included all the delayed grief from my father’s death. There are no small things when they are linked to the core of our lives.

    Michael Brewer

Leave a Reply

