Guess what? More Liebster!!

As some of you may know, I was recently nominated for the Liebster Award by blogger, Mike Coville of “Random Thoughts.” However, I was unable to accept the award because my nominator specified that nominees were required to have fewer than 200 followers…and I had just hit the 200 mark the week before.

Well, I am excited and honored to announce that I have been nominated for the Liebster Award once more!, this time by The Bewildered 20-Something Writer, who upped the ante to 300 followers or fewer. Wahoo!

So, for those of you who are now wondering — just what the heck is this award with its strange varying colors, symbols, and requirements? — let’s turn to my nominator for a few more details:

According to Wise Woman in Training’s post nominating me and a few Google searches of my own, the Liebster Award, which translates to “dearest” in English, is for smaller blogs that other bloggers think are just darn tootin’ swell (aww, shucks, thanks you guys).

 

Blogs are nominated for the award via other bloggers in the hope that the award will draw more attention to said blog and get it more views. If a blogger accepts the Liebster award, she answers a number of questions asked by the nominating blogger, and then nominates other blogs for the award in the same way. So, in other words, it’s like a feel-good chain letter (I’m sure I’m dating myself by using the phrase chain letter, but oh well) in the blogosphere.

I’ve seen varying numbers of how many blogs I’m supposed to nominate for it, as well as conflicting numbers on how small the blog is supposed to be (some say 3000 readers/subscribers or less, and some say 200 or less).

So, for our purposes (well, for my purposes, if I’m being honest), let’s make the rules for this one: the awarded blog must have 300 followers or fewer, and I get to nominate however-the-hell many other great blogs I want 🙂 (And, just for those of you out there wondering, I am planning on dedicating my entire next blog post to these new Liebster Award nominees (hence why they are not included in this post).)

First, I’d like to give just one more shout-out to The Bewildered 20-Something Writer, because her blog really does rock. I mean, if you haven’t checked out her writing yet then you should absolutely make that your very next stop (unless some medical emergency befalls you in the next five-or-so minutes, in which case you get a pass to pick the hospital as your next stop instead).

 

My responses to The Bewildered 20-Something Writer’s questions:

  1. What inspired you to start writing/blogging? I’ve been writing ever since I learned how to spell (and, actually, a bit earlier than that, but it’s mostly gibberish at that point). I only started blogging, really, once I learned that I was getting my first big break from McFarland & Co. to have my first book, The Trickster in Ginsbergpublished. I suppose I just realized then that, well, I wanted to dance around and tell everyone I knew and a bunch of people I didn’t, all about it.
  2. If you could shrink any animal–-real or mythical–-so that it was pocket sized, what animal would you shrink and keep as a pet? Tricky! But I’m definitely going to have to go with Ewoks from the moon of Endor (*cough*Star Wars*cough*). I know they’re already small, but I really dig the idea of pocket-sized ones 🙂
  3. Name three guilty pleasure books and/or movies that you’re sorry you’re not sorry you like (say that three times fast). Hmm…another tricky one. Well, as far as guilty pleasure movies go (although I am definitely NOT sorry about these ;)): Zoolander, Heavy Metal (1981), and Speaking of Sex (James Spader is definitely da bomb!).
  4. If you could change your name to anything, what would you change it to? Actually, this might be boring, but I like my name. I don’t think I’d change it. (Although I am rather strangely fond of the names: Zora and Star — don’t worry, I’m not in charge of naming any children.)
  5. What inspires you creatively, i.e., what gets your creative juices pumping again when you’re in a bit of a slump? Dancing. I love dancing. And Murder, She Wrote. And Ray Bradbury’s Zen in the Art of Writing.
  6. If you knew you only had one hour before the zombie apocalypse, what would you do? Hmm… I’d probably hop in my rocket ship and move to Europa.
  7. Name the weirdest/funniest/coolest/most memorable/etc. dream you’ve had. Wow, this one is actually really tough because my dreams are always so fantastical. I guess one I’ll share…that’s particularly weird…ah, yes! This is a dream I used to have as a recurring nightmare as a child: I’m in my old Baptist daycare building and, for some reason, it’s a totally round building now with a cylinder of walls in the center that separates the building into various rooms. I’m running in a circle through each room, chasing a woman. I’ve got shoes on, but the woman I’m chasing is barefoot, and, no matter how quickly I run, all I can ever do is just glimpse her naked foot as she flees into the next room. I’m chasing her in an attempt to save her, though she doesn’t seem to know this. You see, the floors of this building are toxic (as is evidenced by the tiny, child-skeletons that riddle the floor along with assorted, abandoned toys and whatnots), and she’s a sitting duck with those bare feet of hers. But, so far as I can remember and for all I know now, she’s still running. I never have caught up to her.
  8. What advice would you give your six-year-old self? Take a damn chill pill. And don’t give up on that Bambi rewrite.
  9. What are the five things that make you the happiest? My husband, my family/friends (cheater cheater pumpkin eater!), my pets, my faith, and road trips.
  10. Star Wars or Star Trek? Star Trek! (Sorry, Ewoks…)
2 thoughts on “Guess what? More Liebster!!”

  1. Awesome answers!! I love the idea of pocket-sized Ewoks 😀 And thank you so much for the shout out, you’re too sweet 🙂

  2. Congratulations sweetie! I hated the notion of you losing your award because of last minute success (I’ve never heard of success disqualifying someone for an award before). Also, when did you discover your love for dancing? Evan had me believing that you were too shy to dance. Even if it’s a late-blooming love, I’m glad for you.

    Dad

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

