It’s Published!!

That’s right everyone, the long-awaited publishing of The Trickster in Ginsberg: A Critical Reading has finally happened! Orders are now being filled both in paperback and e-book.

AG 3

A lot has happened in the past few months. I’ve gotten married, graduated from my MA program (magna cum laude, I might add), had my first book published with an indie publisher (McFarland is awesome, by the way; their editors treat you with the utmost respect!), and have just recently left my job to both move (hopefully back to Texas or up to Baltimore) as well as to explore new possibilities. A lot of people might say that leaving a steady job where I get to work with people I like and am paid fairly well just to explore something new is crazy — especially right now — but this writer needs a change of scenery and I’m just fortunate enough to be able to risk it.

Mostly though, I’m simply feeling beat (pun definitely intended for my Beat Lovers out there). I’ve had massive headaches for almost a full week straight (and I almost never suffer headaches) and it feels as though I’ve been exhausted in a way I haven’t experienced in years. Perhaps it’s the let down from finally being free after all those years of higher education or maybe it’s D.C.’s burgeoning spring weather, but either way it’s keeping me hanging a bit low despite my excitement and glee.

For now, I’ve decided to focus primarily upon my husband, my freelance writing, and upon preparations for our impending move and then honeymoon to Norway. Can anyone say lutefisk? Anyway, I wish this post were a bit more reflective and in-depth but I feel so close to all of this still that I may just need to wait until I finish my cartwheels before I get anything substantive down regarding these experiences.

At any rate, as this blog started so that I might have a place to discuss and reflect upon the progress of my first book, I was too excited to wait until later to share the good news. And let me tell you, it feels absolutely delicious to be able to share here that the dream has finally come true.

Now, I suppose, onward, ho!

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “It’s Published!!”

  1. Congratulations on the publication of your book! What a huge accomplishment. It sounds like its publication has left you wiped out, elated, and liberated, all at the same time. With so many new opportunities and adventures coming your way, it makes sense!

    Really looking forward to reading The Trickster in Ginsberg!
    cheers –
    Denise

  2. Best wishes on all the accomplishments and transitions. Now take a deep breath, relax and absorb. You’ve earned an interlude in which to release, receive and rejuvenate. It’s been a pleasure following you on this journey and I’m looking forward to hearing about your next round of adventures as your book hits the stands.

  3. Congratulations Katherine! As my professor would always say, the birth of a book is always a reason to celebrate with the best of one’s abilities. I hope to publish my own books someday as well.

    Keep going!

Leave a Reply

